Skip to content

Medications

Older Appetite Suppressants

Quick read · 6 min

Last reviewed: September 2026Every claim linked to source

Diethylpropion, phendimetrazine and benzphetamine are stimulant appetite suppressants approved, like phentermine, only for short-term use. They are still prescribed, but the published evidence is thin.

Three approved drugs, no modern trials

All three labels allow only a few weeks of use, and none of them states how much weight people lose beyond the class line that the drug beats placebo by 'a fraction of a pound a week'. Everything on this page therefore comes from the FDA labels rather than from trial results.

Key facts

Shared across all three drugs, from their FDA labels and current generic pricing

Status

FDA approved for short-term use

All three are FDA approved, none for long-term use

Form

Tablets, one to three times daily

Taken before meals in most dosing schedules

Weight loss in trials

Not quantified

The labels say only "a fraction of a pound a week" more than placebo

Cost

$20–$74

Per 30-day supply of diethylpropion or phendimetrazine; benzphetamine costs more

Prescription status

Schedule III or IV controlled substances

Diethylpropion is Schedule IV; the other two are Schedule III

Duration on the label

A few weeks

Tolerance to the appetite effect is described in the labels

Controlled substances, and thin evidence

All three drugs are controlled substances, and all three labels note that the possibility of abuse should be kept in mind when deciding whether to include such a drug in a weight-reduction programme. Unlike the newer weight-loss medicines, none of them has a published modern trial reporting how much weight participants lost.

What these drugs are

All three are stimulant-type appetite suppressants, taken as tablets before meals, and all three labels approve them only as a short-term addition to a calorie-restricted weight-reduction programme. The labels describe them in almost the same words: sympathomimetic amines with activity similar to the amphetamines. What separates them from each other is the dosing schedule, the controlled-substance class and the price.

They are not the same thing as the modern weight-loss medicines. Those act on gut hormones, were tested in trials running well past a year, and are approved for long-term use. These three are approved for a few weeks, and their labels carry no weight-loss figure at all.


The three drugs

Diethylpropion (Tenuate)

A stimulant-type appetite suppressant from the same era as phentermine, taken either as a 25 mg tablet three times a day an hour before meals or as a single 75 mg controlled-release tablet swallowed whole in mid-morning. It is still on the market as a generic but is prescribed far less often than phentermine.

Dose on the label
25 mg three times daily, or one 75 mg controlled-release tablet
Cost
$29–$74/mo
What the price covers
About $73.55 for 90 tablets of 25 mg — a month at three a day — falling to $29.44 with a discount card, per singlecare.com on 11 September 2026.
Weight loss
Not stated as a percentage in the label; the label says the extra weight loss over placebo 'averages some fraction of a pound a week'

Phendimetrazine (Bontril)

A stimulant appetite suppressant taken as a 35 mg tablet two or three times a day an hour before meals, up to a maximum of two tablets three times a day. Its label states plainly that it is 'related chemically and pharmacologically to the amphetamines', and it sits in a stricter controlled-substance class than phentermine.

Dose on the label
35 mg tablet, two or three times daily
Cost
$20–$62/mo
What the price covers
About $61.89 for 90 tablets of 35 mg — a month at three a day — falling to $19.85 with a discount card, per singlecare.com on 11 September 2026.
Weight loss
Not stated as a percentage in the label; the label says the extra weight loss over placebo 'is only a fraction of a pound a week'

Benzphetamine (Didrex)

The least-used of the older stimulant appetite suppressants. Treatment starts at 25–50 mg once a day and the label's suggested range is 25–50 mg one to three times a day, with single daily doses given mid-morning or mid-afternoon. Its label describes its activity as similar to the amphetamines, and it is a Schedule III controlled substance.

Dose on the label
25–50 mg, one to three times daily
Cost
$122–$869
What the price covers
Priced per 90 tablets of 50 mg — about a month at the label's maximum of three a day, or three months at one a day. There is no single average price: on 11 September 2026 the discount-card prices listed on singlecare.com for that quantity ranged from about $122 at one pharmacy chain to $868.50 at another, and the highest listed cash price was $1,518.30. Benzphetamine is the one older suppressant whose price is not consistently low.
Weight loss
Not stated as a percentage in the label; the label says the extra weight loss over placebo 'is only a fraction of a pound a week'

What the evidence does and does not show

This is the part of the page where the honest answer is an absence. For phentermine there are three published randomised trials and a health-record study of nearly 14,000 people. For these three drugs there is no comparable published evidence to cite, so nothing on this page can tell you how much weight participants lost, how many reached 5% or 10% weight loss, or what happened after treatment stopped.

What the labels do state is the class finding, in almost identical wording on all three: the extra weight loss of drug-treated patients over placebo-treated patients is “only a fraction of a pound a week”. The phendimetrazine label adds that tolerance to the appetite-suppressing effect develops within a few weeks.

Absence of evidence is a fact about the drug too. It does not mean these medicines do nothing. It means that if someone quotes you a weight-loss percentage for diethylpropion, phendimetrazine or benzphetamine, there is no published trial behind it.


Who the labels say they are for — and who they are not for

Diethylpropion

The label describes diethylpropion as a short-term (a few weeks) addition to a calorie-restricted weight-reduction programme for people with a starting BMI of 30 or above who have not responded to diet and exercise alone, and says it is 'indicated for use as monotherapy only'. Diethylpropion is a Schedule IV controlled substance and is not recommended for anyone aged 16 or under.

Phendimetrazine

The label describes phendimetrazine as a short-term (a few weeks) addition to a calorie-restricted weight-reduction programme. It is a Schedule III controlled substance — a tighter class than phentermine — and is not recommended for children under 12.

Benzphetamine

The label describes benzphetamine as a short-term (a few weeks) addition to a calorie-restricted weight-reduction programme for people with a starting BMI of 30 or above who have not responded to diet and exercise alone. It is a Schedule III controlled substance, is contraindicated in women who are or may become pregnant, and is not recommended under the age of 17.

The contraindication lists overlap, without being identical. All three rule out an overactive thyroid, glaucoma, agitated states, a history of drug abuse and known hypersensitivity to sympathomimetic amines, and all three warn that hypertensive crises may result from use during or within 14 days of a monoamine oxidase inhibitor. The phendimetrazine and benzphetamine labels add advanced arteriosclerosis, symptomatic cardiovascular disease and moderate-to-severe high blood pressure; the diethylpropion label contraindicates advanced arteriosclerosis and severe high blood pressure, and treats symptomatic cardiovascular disease as a caution rather than a bar. The diethylpropion label also lists pulmonary hypertension and rules out combining it with other appetite suppressants, and the benzphetamine label states that it is contraindicated in women who are or may become pregnant.

The 2015 Endocrine Society guideline recommends against using diethylpropion — and phentermine — in people with uncontrolled high blood pressure or a history of heart disease. Whether any of this applies to you is a question for the clinician who can see your blood pressure and your medicines list.


Side effects the labels list

These labels predate the modern format, so they group side effects by body system and give no percentages. The lists are dominated by stimulant effects.

Diethylpropion

  • Dry mouth
  • Insomnia, nervousness or restlessness
  • Raised blood pressure, palpitations or fast heartbeat
  • Headache, dizziness or tremor
  • Nausea, vomiting, diarrhoea or constipation
  • Rash, hives or reddened skin
  • Pulmonary hypertension and heart-valve disease (rare)
  • Bone-marrow suppression, agranulocytosis or leukopenia

Phendimetrazine

  • Dry mouth
  • Insomnia, restlessness or agitation
  • Palpitations, fast heartbeat or raised blood pressure
  • Headache, dizziness, tremor or sweating
  • Nausea, diarrhoea, constipation or stomach pain
  • Blurred vision
  • Needing to pass urine more often, painful urination or changes in libido
  • Psychotic state

Benzphetamine

  • Dry mouth or an unpleasant taste
  • Insomnia, restlessness or overstimulation
  • Palpitations, fast heartbeat or raised blood pressure
  • Headache, dizziness, tremor or sweating
  • Nausea or diarrhoea
  • Hives or other skin reactions
  • Low mood after stopping
  • Cardiomyopathy and ischaemic heart events (isolated reports)

How long they are meant to be taken

Diethylpropion. The label limits use to a few weeks and says that if tolerance develops the dose should not be increased — the drug should be stopped instead. It also sets a stopping rule for the start of treatment: to 'limit unwarranted exposure and risks', treatment 'should be continued only if the patient has satisfactory weight loss within the first 4 weeks of treatment (e.g., weight loss of at least 4 pounds, or as determined by the physician and patient)'.

Phendimetrazine. The label limits use to a few weeks and states that 'tolerance to the anorectic effect of phendimetrazine develops within a few weeks'; when that happens it says the drug should be stopped rather than the dose increased.

Benzphetamine. The label limits use to a few weeks and says that where tolerance develops the drug should be stopped rather than the dose increased. It also sets a stopping rule for the start of treatment: to 'limit unwarranted exposure and risks', treatment 'should be continued only if the patient has satisfactory weight loss within the first 4 weeks of treatment (i.e., weight loss of at least 4 pounds, or as determined by the physician and patient)'.

Unlike phentermine, these three have no large study of longer-term use to set against their labels — so on duration, the label is all the evidence there is.


What they cost

Two of the three are cheap. Diethylpropion and phendimetrazine both come in at well under a hundred dollars for a 30-day supply at cash prices, and less with a discount card. Benzphetamine is the exception, and it has no single price at all: on one day, the discount-card prices listed for the same 90-tablet bottle ran from around $122 at one pharmacy chain to nearly $870 at another, with one cash price listed above $1,500.

Diethylpropion$29–$74/mo

About $73.55 for 90 tablets of 25 mg — a month at three a day — falling to $29.44 with a discount card, per singlecare.com on 11 September 2026.

Phendimetrazine$20–$62/mo

About $61.89 for 90 tablets of 35 mg — a month at three a day — falling to $19.85 with a discount card, per singlecare.com on 11 September 2026.

Benzphetamine$122–$869

Priced per 90 tablets of 50 mg — about a month at the label's maximum of three a day, or three months at one a day. There is no single average price: on 11 September 2026 the discount-card prices listed on singlecare.com for that quantity ranged from about $122 at one pharmacy chain to $868.50 at another, and the highest listed cash price was $1,518.30. Benzphetamine is the one older suppressant whose price is not consistently low.

These are US cash prices checked on one day, and they move. A discount-card price is not an insurance price, and your pharmacy may quote something different.


How they compare in the evidence

Common questions

Written and maintained by one person · Built with agentic AI tools · Every number checked against the cited trial · Not medical advice

How this site is built →

Next step most people take

Built with agentic AI tools and not a substitute for medical advice

Last reviewed:

Was this page helpful?
Medical disclaimer: This website is for informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before starting, stopping, or changing any treatment. Prices shown are United States self-pay or list prices and vary by insurance and country.